Skip to navigation – Site map

11 | 2017
Paradoxical Southeast Asia

Edited by Caroline Herbelin

In Southeast Asia, a space characterized by intense regional and global traffic networks since the sixteenth century, the architectural landscape is often seen as a palimpsest of styles. The hybrid and syncretic nature of Southeast Asian architectural forms is seen as the result of the successive waves of contacts that marked the history of this part of the world called by some the "Asian Mediterranean." (F. Gipoloux). In this genealogy of architectural types, the colonial moment has been often considered a rupture that introduced radically new forms in vernacular architecture. Following this logic, the late twentieth century and early twenty-first century are considered as moments of further intensification of this architectural acculturation. The adoption of the international style in the megacities of the "Asian tigers," nerve centers of the global economy, is symbolic of an urban development superficially tuned to the "global" rather than the local. 

By equating the evolution of architectural forms in Southeast Asia to a transfer, mainly from West to East, this approach evades the complexity of the formation of the architectural landscape of Southeast Asia. This issue of ABE proposes to focus on the development of "syncretic" architectures of Southeast Asia by precisely tracing the circulation of techniques and architectural forms through a contextual approach. Local, regional, global have not followed each other sequentially - such a model presupposes the existence of a local, "original," culture. Instead, these three levels of traffic have coexisted in the past. Far from simple sedimentary layers laid down over time, the production of Southeast Asian architecture has been multiscalar, rhizomic and a longue durée phenomenon. For this reason, the concept of "returns" is a particularly useful one for analyzing both "colonial" and "traditional" motifs that appear in contemporary architecture.
When rethinking the local and the global in Southeast Asian architecture, we must move beyond the binary oppositions between the vernacular and the foreign, the colonial and the post-colonial, and the modern and the traditional, while still exploring how actors used such categories dynamically. Only in this way can we explain the coexistence of such seemingly contradictory categories.
  • Logo INHA
  • Logo CNRS – Institut des sciences humaines et sociales
  • Logo In Visu
  • Revues.org

Navigation – Plan du site

11 | 2017
Paradoxical Southeast Asia

Sous la direction de Caroline Herbelin

En Asie du Sud-Est, espace caractérisé par d’intenses réseaux de circulations régionaux et globaux du XVIe siècle jusqu’à nos jours, le paysage architectural est souvent considéré comme un palimpseste. Le caractère hybride et syncrétique des formes architecturales sudestasiatiques, est perçu comme l’empreinte des vagues de contacts successives qui ont émaillées l’histoire de cette partie du monde, surnommée « Méditerranée asiatique » (F. Gipoloux). Dans cette généalogie des types architecturaux, le moment colonial est souvent considéré comme une rupture qui a introduit des formes radicalement nouvelles dans l’architecture vernaculaire. Selon cette même logique, après les décolonisations, la fin du XXe siècle et le début du XXIe siècle sont des moments d’intensification de cette acculturation architecturale. L’adoption du style international dans les mégapoles des « tigres asiatiques », centres névralgiques de l’économie globalisée, semble symbolique d’un développement urbain tourné vers le « global » plutôt que le « local ».

En assimilant l’évolution des formes architecturales en Asie du Sud Est à celle d’un transfert, principalement d’Ouest en Est, cette approche escamote pourtant les modalités complexes de constitution du paysage architectural du sud-est asiatique. Ce numéro d’ABE propose de s’intéresser à l’élaboration des architectures « syncrétiques » d’Asie du Sud-Est en traçant précisément les circulations des techniques et des formes architecturales tout en adoptant une approche contextuelle. Le local, le régional, le global ne se succèdent pas dans le temps de manière séquentielle, ce qui présupposerait l’existence d’une culture locale « originelle », mais des circulations à différents niveaux coexistent. Plutôt que sédimentaires, les modalités de production de cette architecture sont à la fois multiscalaires, rhizomiques et s’inscrivent dans la longue durée. Considérer les phénomènes de retours est particulièrement utile pour penser l’usage de motifs qui paraissent « coloniaux » ou au contraire « traditionnels » dans l’architecture contemporaine.

Repenser le local et le global dans le cadre sud-est asiatique permet de dépasser les oppositions binaires entre le vernaculaire et l’étranger, le colonial et le postcolonial, le moderne et le traditionnel tout en s’attachant à considérer comment les acteurs utilisent ces catégories de manière dynamique, ce qui explique leur coexistence sans que cela soit contradictoire.

  • Logo INHA
  • Logo CNRS – Institut des sciences humaines et sociales
  • Logo In Visu
  • Revues.org